Fortis Inc.
FTSNYSECIK 1666175UtilitiesFiscal year ends Dec 31
Balance sheet
| Line item | Unit | period not labelled2014-12-31 | period not labelled2015-12-31 | FY20162016-12-31 | FY20172017-12-31 | FY20182018-12-31 | FY20192019-12-31 | FY20202020-12-31 | FY20212021-12-31 | FY20222022-12-31 | FY20232023-12-31 | FY20242024-12-31 | FY20252025-12-31 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and equivalents | $bn | 0.2Cash and equivalents, period not labelled, at 2014-12-31CAD 230.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 0.2Cash and equivalents, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 242.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 0.3Cash and equivalents, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 269.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 0.3Cash and equivalents, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 327.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 0.3Cash and equivalents, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 332.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 0.4Cash and equivalents, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 370.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 0.2Cash and equivalents, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 249.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 0.1Cash and equivalents, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 131.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 0.2Cash and equivalents, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 209.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 0.6Cash and equivalents, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 625.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 0.2Cash and equivalents, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 220.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 0.4Cash and equivalents, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 367.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:CashAndCashEquivalentsAtCarryingValue. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Current assets | $bn | not reported | 1.9Current assets, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 1.86bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 2.2Current assets, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 2.17bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 2.2Current assets, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 2.21bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 3.3Current assets, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 3.26bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 2.6Current assets, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 2.57bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 2.6Current assets, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 2.61bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 2.7Current assets, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 2.73bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 4.3Current assets, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 4.27bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 4.0Current assets, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 4.03bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 3.8Current assets, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 3.80bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 3.8Current assets, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 3.81bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:AssetsCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Total assets | $bn | not reported | 28.8Total assets, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 28.80bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 47.9Total assets, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 47.90bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 47.8Total assets, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 47.82bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 53.1Total assets, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 53.05bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 53.4Total assets, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 53.40bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 55.5Total assets, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 55.48bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 57.7Total assets, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 57.66bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 64.3Total assets, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 64.25bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 65.9Total assets, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 65.92bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 73.5Total assets, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 73.49bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 74.8Total assets, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 74.83bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Assets. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Current liabilities | $bn | not reported | 2.6Current liabilities, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 2.64bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 3.9Current liabilities, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 3.94bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 3.5Current liabilities, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 3.50bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 4.3Current liabilities, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 4.25bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 4.2Current liabilities, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 4.18bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 4.1Current liabilities, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 4.15bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 4.8Current liabilities, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 4.80bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 6.6Current liabilities, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 6.62bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 6.0Current liabilities, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 5.96bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 6.0Current liabilities, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 6.04bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 7.5Current liabilities, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 7.51bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LiabilitiesCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Total liabilities | $bn | not reported | 18.5Total liabilities, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 18.45bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 31.5Total liabilities, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 31.45bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 31.1Total liabilities, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 31.07bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 34.6Total liabilities, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 34.59bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 33.3Total liabilities, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 33.29bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 35.2Total liabilities, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 35.20bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 36.7Total liabilities, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 36.74bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 41.4Total liabilities, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 41.41bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 42.6Total liabilities, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 42.59bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 47.6Total liabilities, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 47.63bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 49.0Total liabilities, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 48.96bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:Liabilities. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Long-term debt | $bn | not reported | 10.8Long-term debt, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 10.78bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 20.8Long-term debt, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 20.82bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 20.7Long-term debt, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 20.69bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 23.2Long-term debt, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 23.16bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 21.5Long-term debt, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 21.50bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 23.1Long-term debt, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 23.11bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 23.7Long-term debt, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 23.71bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 25.9Long-term debt, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 25.93bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 27.2Long-term debt, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 27.23bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 31.2Long-term debt, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 31.22bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 30.7Long-term debt, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 30.72bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtNoncurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Current portion of debt | $bn | not reported | 0.4Current portion of debt, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 384.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 0.3Current portion of debt, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 251.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 0.7Current portion of debt, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 705.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 0.9Current portion of debt, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 926.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 0.7Current portion of debt, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 690.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 1.3Current portion of debt, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 1.25bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 1.6Current portion of debt, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 1.63bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 2.5Current portion of debt, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 2.48bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 2.3Current portion of debt, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 2.30bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 2.0Current portion of debt, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 1.99bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 3.1Current portion of debt, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 3.15bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:LongTermDebtCurrent. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Short-term borrowings | $bn | not reported | 0.5Short-term borrowings, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 511.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 1.2Short-term borrowings, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 1.16bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 0.2Short-term borrowings, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 209.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 0.1Short-term borrowings, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 60.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 0.5Short-term borrowings, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 512.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 0.1Short-term borrowings, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 132.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 0.2Short-term borrowings, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 247.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 0.3Short-term borrowings, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 253.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 0.1Short-term borrowings, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 119.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 0.1Short-term borrowings, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 98.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 0.4Short-term borrowings, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 412.0m. XBRL concept us-gaap:ShortTermBorrowings. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
| Shareholders' equity | $bn | 9.1Shareholders' equity, period not labelled, at 2014-12-31CAD 9.11bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquityIncludingPortionAttributableToNoncontrollingInterest. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 9.9Shareholders' equity, period not labelled, at 2015-12-31CAD 9.88bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F/A filed 2017-03-17, accession 0001666175-17-000011.Report this figure | 14.6Shareholders' equity, FY2016, at 2016-12-31CAD 14.60bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2018-02-15, accession 0001666175-18-000005.Report this figure | 15.0Shareholders' equity, FY2017, at 2017-12-31CAD 15.00bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2019-02-15, accession 0001666175-19-000011.Report this figure | 16.5Shareholders' equity, FY2018, at 2018-12-31CAD 16.53bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2020-02-13, accession 0001666175-20-000006.Report this figure | 18.5Shareholders' equity, FY2019, at 2019-12-31CAD 18.53bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2021-02-12, accession 0001666175-21-000007.Report this figure | 18.7Shareholders' equity, FY2020, at 2020-12-31CAD 18.70bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2022-02-11, accession 0001666175-22-000019.Report this figure | 19.3Shareholders' equity, FY2021, at 2021-12-31CAD 19.29bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2023-02-10, accession 0001666175-23-000014.Report this figure | 21.0Shareholders' equity, FY2022, at 2022-12-31CAD 21.03bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2024-02-09, accession 0001666175-24-000020.Report this figure | 21.5Shareholders' equity, FY2023, at 2023-12-31CAD 21.50bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2025-02-14, accession 0001666175-25-000017.Report this figure | 23.8Shareholders' equity, FY2024, at 2024-12-31CAD 23.81bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure | 23.8Shareholders' equity, FY2025, at 2025-12-31CAD 23.81bn. XBRL concept us-gaap:StockholdersEquity. 40-F filed 2026-02-12, accession 0001666175-26-000013.Report this figure |
Source: SEC EDGAR, XBRL company facts. Last ingested by Listed: Oct 24, 2026, 15:45 ET. Listed shows no prices and gives no investment advice.